“If you remain in me and my words remain in you,
ask for whatever you want and it will be done for you.
By this is my Father glorified,
that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.”

Jn 15:1-8

We all have certain things which make us feel happy. Many people love to look at photos of dogs, or cats. One of my friends feels drawn to owls. Others melt when they look at babies. Who doesn’t feel uplifted looking at a gorgeous sunrise or waves becoming alive as they glow in the evening sun? I feel touched by all these. Still I notice that the photo of these two Anglican women priests fills my heart with a profound joy, a certainty of the goodness of life. It melts my heart, in fact; it makes it softer, gentler. I experience wonder and my eyes tear up. I catch myself praising Godde aloud, thanking Her for this to be happening — finally.

My old rage at my denomination is dying off. Life’s too short, Godde’s too big. Anger is toxic. I still have my moments when disappointment overruns my heart. But it’s getting rarer. Maybe things would be different if I felt called to be a priest. I remember a movement of great envy when I saw a man I knew become a deacon. I just could not attend his ordination. I felt too jealous, because I knew that this choice was not open to me. Vocation Sunday still gives me heartburns, because we are asked to pray for priestly vocations… I know there is no dearth of vocations. It’s just that only 49% of the world population is eligible… Our hierarchy thinks it can channel the Holy Spirit the way it wants, the way it thinks it right. How strange…

The only time I ever got hateful comments (anonymous, of course) was when I made up a press release informing that Rome had decided that, in a spirit of equality and justice, considering it was receiving Anglican priests and their families into the bosom of the Catholic Church, would open the priesthood to both women and gays… Well, we already have gays in the priesthood, but it must be hard going for most. The idea that Rome was opening its doors to women drove a few people crazy. 

For the first time ever, last night, after having delighted in the photo above, I wondered whether misogynous folks are like homophobic people … A homophobic person is afraid of the gay in himself or herself, of that part of sexuality which could really be going either way. Could it be possible that a man or a woman is misogynous because he or she is afraid of the feminine part of his or her psyche? I have no answer and my question really leads nowhere.

At any rate, I wanted to share with you this photo which has me lift my hands up to Godde in praise, reverence and thanks. I am so glad these women can be what they feel called to be. How very precious they are to me.

Photo: Seen on Facebook, thanks to On Being With Krista Tippett

 

