“This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased;

listen to him.”

When the disciples heard this, they fell prostrate

and were very much afraid.

But Jesus came and touched them, saying,

“Rise, and do not be afraid.”

Mt 17:1-9

Listen to him…

The Transfiguration is announcing the Resurrection. Between now and then, there will be the descent into the valley of death and the very narrow gate of the Cross.

I like this drawing of two of the disciples (Peter and John?), awed and transfixed by what they are witnessing. Holy Companions of the One who is calling each one of us.

Lent this year seems to be all about listening to him. If I want to follow in his footsteps, I need to listen to what he says, verbally and non-verbally. I also want to follow the inner dialogue between the path he shows me and the feelings it triggers in me. The fear of the cost of discipleship, the letting go of my own will, the surrender of my ego, all this for the love of Him, first transfigured on the mountain, then with us always, robed in the luminous aura of his resurrection.

Listen to him…

Only after his death, resurrection, and ascension, did the disciples seem to understand the words Jesus had said. Why should I understand him any better than they did? Am I grasping what he is telling me? Or do I take in just the bits that fit me?

Listen to him…

I hear an urgency, nearly a plea. So much depends on our listening to him! Are we any closer to his Kingdom than were the first disciples? Have we learned anything in the past two thousand years? Have I?

My heart overflows with love for Him, but this is not enough. Climbing the mountain with him is a hard pull. Finishing at the Golgotha, harder still. The cross stands there, for Him, for me maybe. To say yes to all.

This morning in Moved to Greater Love, I came upon a moving prayer with which I would like to end this post:

“Perfect Resignation” by St. Joseph Pignatelli, SJ (1737-1811)

My God, I do not know what must come to me today. 


But I am certain that nothing can happen to me


that you have not foreseen, decreed, 


and ordained from eternity. 


That is sufficient for me. 


I adore your impenetrable and eternal designs, 


to which I submit with all my heart. 


I desire, I accept them all, and I unite my sacrifice 


to that of Jesus Christ, my divine Savior. 


I ask in his name and through his infinite merits, 


patience in my trials, and perfect and entire submission


to all that comes to me by your good pleasure. 


Amen.

 

Art: Raphael’s studies for his Transfiguration, 1500-1525. Found here.

