If you then, who are wicked,

know how to give good gifts to your children,

how much more will your heavenly Father give good things to those who ask him.

Mt 7:7-12 

If you then, who are wicked…

Oh, how much I like this line! What a release it feels to me… How liberating… Yes, Jesus knows I am wicked. I can hide him nothing. He sees through me and accepts me as I am. What more can I ask?

This Lent, I am listening intently to Jesus’ words in the hope to catch the tone, the inflections of his voice. How does it sound in the morning air? He cast a spell on most who listen to him. He convinces the crowds of Godde’s goodness and love… I hear no judgment in the word ‘wicked’ somehow, just an acknowledgment of the difference between Godde and me.

If you then, who are wicked, … how much more will Godde give good things

I try to remember what I give my children and grandchildren… Yes, I usually try to give the best of me, I who am wicked and flawed… What more will Godde give me when I ask? Oh, the certainty that I will indeed receive…

Jesus, please give me a good heart. Give me patience, kindness. Oh, never to throw out barbed words at those around me; never to hurt the feelings of those I love…

If you then, who are wicked…

Jesus says this to me with a smile. His words touch my heart, helping me acknowledge my being both wicked and beloved. I let go a deep sigh of relief… You know me and you love me… You made me, you know every bit of who I am, of what I say, of what I think, of what I hide from myself even…

What truer prayer can it be, Jesus, than to ask you to love me and let me follow you? May your kindness and love rub on my wickedness and make it less sharp, less selfish, less indifferent…

If I then, who am wicked, know how to give good gifts to my children, how much more will my heavenly Creator give me…

I stay present to Godde’s love for me and remain there for a while.

 

Photo: Jesus, photo found here.

