The Goal of our life is to live with God forever. God, who loves us, gave us life. Our own response of love allows God’s life to flow into us without limit.

All the things in this world are gifts from God, presented to us so that we can know God more easily and make a return of love more readily. As a result, we appreciate and use all these gifts of God insofar as they help us to develop as loving persons. But if any of these gifts become the center of our lives, they displace God And so hinder our growth toward our goal.

In everyday life, then, we must hold ourselves in balance Before all of these created gifts insofar as we have a choice and are not bound by some obligation. We should not fix our desires on health or sickness, wealth or poverty, success or failure, a long life or a short one. For everything has the potential of calling forth in us a deeper response to our life in God.

Our only desire and our one choice should be this: I want and I choose what better leads to God’s deepening his life in me.

The First Principle and Foundation 
(St. Ignatius of Loyola, as paraphrased by David L. Fleming, S.J.)

 

Life is a bit fast for me these days, happy and fast. I have not much time to linger, daydream, and enjoy streams of consciousness. Life grabs me by the hand and invites me to spend time with old friends I love.

Every morning these days, before the day starts making sure I stay in the present moment, I return to Ignatius’ Principle and Foundation. An Ignatian friend suggested I read it, pray it, understand it, to help me on my path to simplicity. Every few words I stop and savor a new or deeper meaning of what I thought I knew.

Living with Godde forever… Godde’s life flowing into me without limit… All things are gifts… Love more readily… Develop as a loving person… Displacing Godde… I should not fix my desires… Potential of calling forth in me…

Each sentence is a small miracle, an encounter with this Godde who looks upon me with kindness and love. Ignatius stands behind me, also looking at me with kindness. Here is an older woman wanting so much to do well, to find Godde in whatever comes her way. Even if I don’t understand what comes my way.

A small moment in the morning to reconnect with the One which is my All, the ground of my being, the love of my soul.

Then, the day begins and carries me away.

In Her name.

Illustration: Hildegard of Bingen

 

