Jesus said to his disciples:
“You are the salt of the earth.
But if salt loses its taste, with what can it be seasoned?
It is no longer good for anything
but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.
You are the light of the world.
A city set on a mountain cannot be hidden.
Nor do they light a lamp and then put it under a bushel basket;
it is set on a lampstand,
where it gives light to all in the house.
Just so, your light must shine before others,
that they may see your good deeds
and glorify your heavenly Father.”
Mt 5:13-16

This is the sort of Gospel that stirs me up, because I don’t feel up to the challenge of being either the salt or much of a light. I think of Oscar Romero, Dom Helder Camara, Pedro Arrupe, Pope Francis, Dorothy Day, Dorothy Stang, Simone Weil or Sr Simone Campbell, and yes these folks were or still are the salt of the earth, the light of the world. They not only talked the talk, they also walked the talk. Pope Francis and Simone Campbell are still walking the talk; and many like them do so as well. I did at some point in my life and loved every minute of it. I just don’t think that checking the case ‘been there done that’ is enough however.

I guess this is what is working on me these days: the frustration of knowing a lot is to be done and my doing hardly, if any, of it. I feel then this vast anger inside of myself, which I want to turn away from myself onto others, blaming them for not doing what I sense I should be doing. But this will not do. I must own the feeling.

An energy which runs out too fast to do much of anything, a feeling of being mired in comfort, and not having found the way yet to give out a hand to someone who needs it.

Maybe this is my prayer today: Godde show me the path, show me how I can help you make this world a better place, show me the little I can do and grant me the peace of mind that goes with it.

In your Name.

 

Photo found here

