And whenever unclean spirits saw him they would fall down before him
and shout, “You are the Son of Godde.”
Mk 3:7-13

This morning, as I came to the words “You are the Son of Godde”, I felt the knees of my heart fold and touch the ground as my being whispered, “indeed You are the Son of Godde.”

I had not finished saying it that I felt a huge grin on my face: only demons and unclean spirits in Jesus’ days could recognize the Son of Godde. Suddenly, I felt one with them and it amused me in a way that brought tears to my eyes. As if my sinfulness could indeed recognize the One who came to save us. I was grateful that it helped me recognize Him for what He was.

In An Ignatian Pathway, Paul Coutinho writes

Ignatius believes that every person has just one root sin and all the other sins are an expression of that one sin. Similarly, we have just one grace and all the other graces are a deepening of that one grace. What is amazing is that the root sin and the root grace share the same energy. When we come to this realization we will be able to use the energy of our root sin to deepen and bring to life our root grace.

… [Ignatius] suggests that we determine the dynamics of our root sin by going over our life year by year and from period to period, looking at our experience with the people, places, and work that we were involved in. This dance and romance with our shadow brings us to our root grace with an exclamation of wonder (SE 60) and climaxes in a life of growing inner freedom as we move toward our total immersion with Godde (SE 237). (6-7)

Well, well. I have now my project for this year right in front of me: finding out my root sin and my root grace. Wish me luck.

 

Photo: Jesus, as a part of a retablo found in the Cathedral of Manresa, la Ceu.

Ignatius used to pray in front of this retablo during the months he lived in Manresa.

 

