Honey At The Table

It fills you with the soft
essence of vanished flowers, it becomes
a trickle sharp as a hair that you follow
from the honey pot over the table

and out the door and over the ground,
and all the while it thickens,

grows deeper and wilder, edged
with pine boughs and wet boulders,
pawprints of bobcat and bear, until

deep in the forest you
shuffle up some tree, you rip the bark,

you float into and swallow the dripping combs,
bits of the tree, crushed bees – – – a taste
composed of everything lost, in which everything lost is found.

Mary Oliver

 

  • Where do you find the taste of honey in your life?
  • What fills you with enthusiasm and energy?
  • What makes you get up in the morning with a bounce in your step, looking forward to what’s to come?

I have been wondering how I can serve Godde. In the course of my life, I have known such moments of luminosity. It took me a while to connect the dots between my joy and Godde’s will. For instance, as a teenager I spent hours learning English; it could have been a waste of time. But in fact, I turned out to spend most of my life speaking, writing, and reading English. Thus, somewhere, the hours poured over English came in handy, or at least took me on a path to happiness.

The other morning, I abandoned my computer and started reading a book I mentioned in my latest post, La Mistagogía de los Ejercicios, a rather difficult book in Spanish. Still, reading it charges me with energy. In fact, I cannot read it at night; if I do, I get hyper and cannot fall asleep.

Why do I find it so attractive? Well, it speaks of Ignatius, his Exercises, his Autobiography, and Spiritual Diary. It explains the encounter with Godde, disordered attachments, amorous surrender, desires, loving and serving Godde: a topic which turns me on. It makes me want to do a thirty-day retreat, not so much to find out what Godde wants from me, but for me to get to know Jesus better, and live, die, and resurrect with him.

What’s the point of it? I am not sure. I just know that spending time with Godde is where lies the honey and I encounter Godde every time I read Javier Melloni’s book. I have a hunch this will take me where I am meant to go.

So, as you go through your day, as you feel alive or bored, look for the honey or the bubbles of champagne or the laughter. See when your day is filled to your heart’s content. I do believe Godde meets us there and then. Godde speaks to us through what gives us life, more life in fact.

Happy looking!

Photo: Why everything is better with honey

 

